avatar for Chris Kuelling

Chris Kuelling

Executive Director
Chris Kuelling is the Executive Director of the International Broadcaster Coalition Against Piracy, Inc. (www.ibcap.us), a first of its kind organization targeting the piracy of international video content.  IBCAP operates as a 501(c)(6) non-profit company and its members include over 130 international television channels such as Sony, IndiaCast, Zee TV, Willow Cricket, TV5 Monde, TV Globo, beIN Sports and MBC.  Through IBCAP, members are able to pool their financial resources and implement a unified strategy to address infringement of members’ content.  Services provided include copyright registration, monitoring and detection through a piracy lab staffed with full-time technicians and engineers, DMCA notices, dealer investigations and consumer awareness campaigns.  IBCAP also provides litigation support to copyright infringement actions initiated by IBCAP members, including for 12 such lawsuits filed in the past five years almost all of which have resulted in substantial damage awards and favorable orders against pirate services that are enforceable against CDNs, ISPs and dealers.

Previously, Chris served as a Senior Vice President with DISH and Sling TV where he was responsible for their international channel business including all content acquisition, marketing, and strategic partnerships.  Chris led the launch of DishWorld, an OTT service for international channels launched in 2010, and was a member of the executive team that formed and launched SlingTV.  Chris’ experience includes serving as the lead programming attorney for the DISH programming department, licensing international sports rights while based in The Netherlands, and leading the content acquisition team for a DTH service in Asia.  Since leaving DISH in 2016, Chris formed CJK World Media, LLC which provides consulting services for international media companies.  Chris received his undergraduate degree from Colgate University in 1987, and his law degree from Washington & Lee University School of Law in 1992.